Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In

Washington University in St Louis Olin Business School

Olin Business SchoolOlin Business School
Home > Alumni > Programs and Reunions > Alumni Awards

Alumni Awards

The Distinguished Business Alumni Award honors Olin Business School alumni who have attained distinction in their careers. Those being honored share the characteristics of leadership: progressive thinking, high standards, uncompromising integrity, commitment, courage, and confidence. Their careers serve as models for all Washington University students and alumni.

The Dean's Medal is awarded to special friends whose dedication and service to Olin Business School have been exceptional. By providing wise advice, pursuing high objectives, and generating the enthusiasm and support of many others, these friends have made significant differences to the School. Special friends of this caliber greatly enhance the School's progress.

The Olin Award is presented to faculty whose research has the greatest potential to advance business. Richard Mahoney, Olin executive in residence and former chairman and CEO of Monsanto, initiated the award to highlight scholarship that has practical and performance-enhancing applications to critical management issues. The prize is a $10,000 honorarium.

2014 Recipients

Distinguished Alumni Awards

Eric G. Flamholtz, PhD, MBA ’66
Founder & President, Management Systems Consulting Corporation
Professor Emeritus, Anderson School of Management, UCLA

Jesse N. Hunter, EMBA ’06
Executive Vice President,
Chief Business Development Officer, Centene Corporation

Alfred S. Koh, MBA ’83
Special Corporate Advisor & Former President &

Chief Executive Officer, Samsung SDS

Wade D. Miquelon, MBA ’89
Chief Financial Officer & President, International, Walgreen Co.

Dean's Medalist

Richard J. Mahoney
Distinguished Executive in Residence, Olin Business School
Distinguished Executive in Residence, the Weidenbaum Center on the Economy,
Government, and Public Policy, Washington University in St. Louis
Former Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Monsanto Company

Olin Award

Lamar Pierce, PhD
Associate Professor of Strategy

2013 Recipients

Distinguished Alumni Awards

Paulino Do Rego Barros, Jr., EMBA '91
President, International Operations, Equifax Inc.
John Dains, BSBA '68
CEO, Helm Financial Corporation

Mary Jo Gorman, EMBA '96
Co-Founder and CEO, Advance ICU Care

Steven Segal, BSBA '82
Special Limited Partner, J.W. Childs Associates, LP

Dean's Medalist

Roger Weston, MBA '67, Chairman - GreatBanc, Inc.

Olin Award

Baojun Jiang, PhD
Assistant Professor of Marketing

2012 Recipients

Distinguished Alumni Awards

Scott B. Helm, BSBA '87
Founding Partner, Energy Capital Partners
Former CFO, Orion Power Holdings, Inc.
Roger L. Koch, BSBA '64, MBA '66
Principal and Co-Chairman of the Board
Koch Development Company

Paul A. Koch, BSBA '61, GL '64, MBA '68
Principal and Co-Chairman of the Board
Koch Development Company

Merry L. Mosbacher, MBA '82
Principal, Insurance Marketing, Edward Jones

Dean's Medalist

Carol and George Bauer Joanne and Charles F. Knight

Olin Award

Tat Y. Chan, Associate Professor of Marketing
Chunhua Wu, PhD, Assistant Professor of Marketing
Ying Xie, Associate Professor of Marketing

2011 Recipients

Distinguished Alumni Awards

John D. Beuerlein, MBA '77
Partner Edward Jones
Jeff L. Fox, MBA '88
Chairman and CEO Harbour Group Ltd.

Gregory A. Fox, MBA '90
Group President, Harbour Group Ltd.

Jay Grinney, MBA '81 & MHA '81
President and CEO, HealthSouth Corp.

Dean's Medalist

Sidney H. Guller, BSBA '47

Olin Award

Radhakrishnan Gopalan, PhD, Assistant Professor of Finance
Todd T. Milbourn, PhD, Hubert C. & Dorothy R. Moog Professor of Finance
Anjan V. Thakor, PhD, Director of the PhD Program & John E. Simon Professor of Finance

2010 Recipients

Distinguished Alumni Awards

Terence E. Block, MBA ‘73
President North America
Nestle Purina PetCare Co.
Alejandro Ruelas, MBA '95
Co-Founder and Managing Partner

John G. Brunner, MBA '89
Chairman Vi-Jon, Inc.

J.J. Stupp, MBA ’83
Founder and Chief Financial Officer

Dean's Medalist

Edward Jones

Olin Award

Dr. Judi McLean Parks
Reuben C. and Anne Carpenter Taylor Professor of Organizational Behavior

2009 Recipients

Distinguished Alumni Awards

David C. Dorfman, BSBA '77
Founder, David Dorfman Dance Company Chair and William Meredith Professor of Dance, Connecticut College
Sally H. Roth, MBA' 95
Area Executive
Upper Midwest Regions Financial Corporation

David A. Peacock, MBA '00
President, Anheuser-Busch, Inc.

Lawrence E. Thomas, BSBA '77
Partner, Edward Jones

Dean's Medalist

Jerald L. Kent, BSBA '78, MBA '79, and Judith L. Kent

Olin Award

Markus Baer, Assistant Professor of Organizational Behavior
Kurt Dirks, Professor of Organizational Behavior
Jackson Nickerson, Frahm Family Professor of Organization and Strategy